Technical Insight # 32 “You Carried Me”

“You Carried Me”  page 97, “Not Far from Home”

 

You-Carried-Me-36x48

The inspiration for this painting arose on many levels.  From a technical perspective, it was the opalescent nature of the light that drew me in and presented the challenges that sustained my drive throughout the work. Through my years of standing before a landscape bathed in light and studying great paintings depicting this light quality, I have noticed that every square inch of the canvas needs to include the full spectrum of light and color.  Note these detail shots that incorporate the influence of all the primary colors.  This particular sun-bathed scene exemplifies the point with its rich blues reflecting and bouncing throughout, however, it is my objective to capture this in each of my paintings, no matter the temperature or strength of the light.  The process of looking for and rendering this opalescent light quality is taught in detail in our video presentation, “The Beginning of Autumn”.

You Carried Me 36x48

 

 

You Carried Me 36x48 copy 2

From a philosophical or emotional inspiration, the theme of “being carried” is one I surely need  through the journey of this life . I cling to this promise…

“Even to your old age and gray hairs I am He, I am He who will sustain you.  I have made you and I will carry you;  I will sustain you and I will rescue you.”

Isaiah 46:4

DVD-cover-art

       Click items for more information

book cover new web

 

Thank you!

 


3 responses to “Technical Insight # 32 “You Carried Me”

  • Bettye Rice

    I loved this; it inspires me!!
    Thanks,
    Bettye Rice
    Dallas

  • Diane

    I want to thank you for being such an inspiration! I saw your studio on a video on youtube with your gorgeous Hind’s Feet painting and it stuck in my mind and has been the inspiration to get me started painting in oils. I treasure your book, it is one I refer to again and again along with my books on Sargent and Sorolla. I watched your DVD of Her Mother’s Locket and learned so much! Also, what a thrill to actually watch you paint an entire painting. Akin to going back in time and watching Sargent paint! What a rare gift. I just received your new DVD, The Beginning of Autumn and can’t wait to watch that one today. I would highly recommend doing a DVD of a painting like the one on today’s post as it would be amazing to learn the techniques of painting this kind of light. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge and your gifts! Your art is incredibly special.

  • Cheryl Jones Moore

    It immediately evoked Sorolla and completely drew me in. Thank you for sharing your insights on using the full spectrum of lights and color. Such beautiful, pleasing interpretations!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers

