Technical Insights from “Not Far from Home” #24


La Boheme and the influence of music…

My father was a classically trained baritone who sang in many choral groups that performed the works of Schubert, Brahms, Palestrina, as well as many other early gospel and early church composers.  As a child, numerous Sundays afternoons were spent at concerts soaking in the harmonies of these great works. These experiences have formed many of my sensitivities today.  As I search and strive to build compositions in my work, often I reflect on what I have taken in musically and find myself asking as the sound weaves its way through my being, “What would that feeling or sensation I am receiving from the musical harmony look like in paint”?  So the Journey begins….

This work, “LaBoheme”, inspired by Giacomo Puccini’s opera by the same title, is a tribute to how God has inspired me through music and the power that is contained within it.

Through the years, many have commented on the music that is playing in the studio and have asked for a list of some of the works.  The following are some of my favorites that have carried many inspirations. (The list is only partial at best.  Listed are only my favorite albums or songs of each artist, but often all of their work is greatly moving).

               Artist/Composer                               Album or Song

  • Ralph Vaughn Williams         Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
  • William Ackerman                  Conferring with the Moon
  • Arvo Part                                  Te Deum
  • John Rutter                              Requiem
  • Vassilis Tsabropoulos            Chants, Hymns and Dances
  • Giacomo Puccini                      (All of his Operas)
  • Josh Groban                             Mi Mancherai
  • Connie Dover                           The Wishing Well
  • Allison Krauss                          A Hundred Miles or More
  • Henryk Gorecki                        Symphony #3
  • Patrick Cassidy                         Irish Film Orchestra  (Famine Theme)
  • Itzhak Perlman                         Theme from Schindler’s List (John Williams)
  • Yo Yo Ma                                   The Music of Ennio Morricone
  • Eleni Karaindrou                      The Weeping Meadow
  • Fernando Ortega                       The Shadow of Your Wings
  • Dave Gerhartz                            Hear You Call
  • Hayley Westenra                       Quanta Qualia
  • Rodrigo                                       Concerto De Aranjuez
  • Joshua Bell                                 Romance of the Vioin
  • Loreena McKennitt                   Nights From the Alhambra
  • Nightnoise                                  A Different Shore
  • Oscar Petersen                           Night Train
  • Over the Rhine                           Happy to Be So
  • John O’Conor                              15 Nocturnes
  • Sarah McLachlan                        Afterglow
  • Secret Garden                             White Stones
  • Sons of Korah                             Shelter
  • The Tallis Scholars                    Lamenta
  • Van Morrison                             Poetic Champions Compose
  • Gabriel Faure                             Requiem

This is a sampling of my favorites…I did not include many of the more well known classical composers, of course, they would be on the list too.

I’d love to hear some of your favorites too…

Thanks and Enjoy!

8 responses to “Technical Insights from “Not Far from Home” #24

  • Dominic Rizzo

    Thanks for you list, I have a lot to look up. some of my favorites, that take me into a different world while painting are: the Florida Suite by Frederick Delius the Bell Song by Lakme Lark Ascending by Von Williams Daphnis et Chloe by Ravel La Rondine by Puccini thanks In His Service Dominic

  • Cherry

    THANK you Daniel!!! ..for taking the time to do this- I’m adding them to my studio playlist… I’ll be pushing paint and going brush miles to some new music… much needed!

  • Kelly

    Thanks! Its always nice to hear what music your inspirational artists listen to.

  • Cherry

    PS: ANY song by Jesse Cook….

  • Linda MacLennan

    In August of 1992, I was fortunate enough to be at the opening of your exhibit at Mongerson-Wunderlich gallery in Chicago. I was even more fortunate to have been able to purchase one of your exquisite paintings, “Draw on Sweet Night”. It’s on the wall beside me as I write this. You and your wife were there that night as was the model who posed for it. (I still have a polaroid photo of you, the model and me in front of the painting). Reading tonight about some of your favorite pieces of music reminds me of one more detail from that evening: you mentioned to me while we talked about “Draw on…” that your listened to the Ralph Vaughn Williams “Fantasia” while painting this. It happened to be one of my favorite pieces of music as well. “Draw on Sweet Night” spoke to me on so many levels. Here it is 20 years later – almost to the week – and she still stirs my heart and soul when I look at her. You are truly a master at your work.

  • Tim

    Several from your music list are on mine (Joshua Bell – Romance of the Vioin, Yo Yo Ma, F. Ortega, J. Groban, etc.).
    I have a broad range of music I listen to while painting, from Jazz/vocal, classical, to a long list of movie soundtracks. At the moment I’m listening to “Emma” movie soundtrack (Samuel Sim).

    My wife and I were in Florida for the first time last week and we spent an afternoon walking around St. Augustine. What an unexpected surprise to spot your paintings in the window of a fine art gallery (Cutter & Cutter)! What a joy. 🙂

    Blessings,
    ~ Tim

  • Anna Rose Bain

    I’m so glad you posted this list! I think you might enjoy the piano music of Emile Pandolfi. He plays a lot of Chopin, but also some amazing arrangements of folk songs, hymns, broadway hits, and a lot more. His Christmas albums are my all-time faves. 🙂

  • Tim

    I would second the piano arrangements of Emile Pandolfi (classical, Christmas, broadway, jazz, etc.). Beautiful, relaxing arrangements with enough depth that it’s one of the few artists where I can create a playlist of his albums going throughout the day without it sounding repetitive or tiresome.

Leave a Reply

