The Artist’s “Siren’s Call” Technical Insight #33

This past month, I was honored to contribute to John Pototschnik’s blog post, Finding your Artistic Voice.

This is such a critical topic in that so many beginning artists tend to be overly concerned with “being original”.  The danger in this obsession to “have a voice” is that artists cloud or muddy their own voice, often inhibiting their true self from coming forth.  I was no exception to this siren’s call and had to learn this through the years.   Below are my thoughts…may they be helpful to you.  🙂

In my experience, finding my  artistic voice came most naturally when I thought least about it. When I began a career as a commercial artist 25 years ago, the only virtue was to “have a style”. While that stint was very short lived,  I had to divest myself of such thinking as that approach only led to hollow, superficial works. While these commercial works were eye catching and trendy, they lacked soul and meaning. Rather, when I entered the fine art realm, I was very intentional to concern myself not with technique but simply recording the subject, it was then that my true voice emerged. The longer an artist works within this framework, the more authentic and original their artistic voice becomes.

Please see John’s full article at…

http://www.pototschnik.com/finding-your-artistic-voice-gerhartz-hanson-cook-landscape-paiinting/

Holding-Her-Close-24-x-18

“Holding Her Close”  24 x 18 oil on linen

These ideas and more are described in great detail in our book and video presentations. Click image to see more… Enjoy!

gerhartz videos

Good luck as you charge ahead!

2 responses to “The Artist’s “Siren’s Call” Technical Insight #33

  • Lucy Chen

    Oh I love ““Holding Her Close”, Daniel! It’s so beautiful and both the girl and the kitten are so cute and adorable!

    I look forward to your every blog, now heading to read the rest of the article on John’s site. Thank you.

  • Chris Benavides

    I am so glad you said this. The pressure to be “original” in the art world is hard to overstate. If people could understand that we are all hard-wired uniquely, originality will “out” as it were. It seems to me it can’t help but do so. Perseverance is the key word. Keep going. Learn from whom you can. Be honest with your intentions, and originality will take care of itself.

Leave a Reply

